The Universal Language

A Netherlandian friend kindly informed me the other day that all is not lost if I should ever find myself overseas without a phrasebook. “Do not worry my friend,” he assured me “for the phrase ‘vaginal infection‘ is the same in almost every language.”

Putting the question of how he even discovered this aside for one moment, I put on my investigators cap and quickly discovered to my amazement that this is absolutely completely true!

For those interested here’s a list of languages in which the phrase ‘vaginal infection’ would more or less be recognized: Afrikaans, Albanian, Azerbaijani, Basque, Belorussian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Esperanto, English, Estonian, Filipino, French, Galician, Georgian, German, Haitian Creole, Indonesian, Italian, Latin, Latvian, Macedonian, Maltese, Norwegian, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish and Ukrainian; and then on top of this there are eleven more languages that employ at least one of the two words in that phrase: Bengali, Armenian, Finnish, Lithuanian, Hungarian, Irish, Malay, Persian, Slovenian, Welsh and Hebrew.

My goodness, the world is a strange and amazing place sometimes. Who would have thought that in a world polarized by so many differences, it would be thrush that ultimately unites us!

Now if you’ll excuse me I’m going to go and find myself some new friends.

Your opinion matters too damit, let us know what you think!

